This site is no longer active and is available for archival purposes only. Registration and login is disabled.

What is everyone up to these days?

What is everyone up to these days?

Postby Chris Edwards » Apr 27, 2010 @ 7:18am

Well, now that the site is back on it's feet, it'd be nice to hear what all the old members are up to these days.

I graduated university, got married, and live out in Vancouver now. I'm going for my Chartered Accountancy at a Big 4 firm. Kind of a switch from my compsci degree-- but it'll be good after I have my designation.

Same hobbies as before.

I use a BlackBerry Bold now, but am looking to see what WM7 brings to the table. WM7 vs BB6 vs Android will be a tough decision. It'll probably come down to hardware, where I think BlackBerry will win. But we'll see.
Chris Edwards
Founder
Chris Edwards
Site Co-Founder

Re: What is everyone up to these days?

Postby MZGuy » May 3, 2010 @ 5:08pm

Hey Chris and all!

I was never posting much on this site, but was lurking quite a lot back in the days ;) I've been checking in a few times during the last years too. Now I took a new look, as I saw that pocketmatrix.com is recommended in the PowerVR Insider FAQ as a PocketPC programming resource! Seems like stuff is happening here again (though I suppose the developer part of the site was never really dead), which is nice!

After doing my Master's Thesis in computer science in a project here at Åbo Akademi University and graduating last year, I didn't want to leave for the real world outside of university, so I decided to continue as a Ph.D. student instead :wink: Right now I'm looking into video decoding on mobile GPUs using OpenGL ES 2.0, which explains what I was doing on PowerVR's site in the first place.

I'm currently using a Nokia N900 smartphone, which I like very much. There are maybe not as many applications developed for it as for the other mobile platforms, but the browser is great.
MZGuy
pm Insider